Award Winners 2018

The 40 best-rated free papers, 20 each in orthopaedics and trauma, were given the option of competing for the EFORT Free Paper Award. Among all submitted presentations, the EFORT Award Committee has chosen the winners in each of the two categories. Winners also receive a financial reward (gold: EUR 1,500; silver: EUR 1,000; bronze: EUR 500).

The 19th EFORT Annual Congress Barcelona 2018 winners are as follows:


GOLD Orthopaedics Abstract:

SILVER Orthopaedics Abstract:

BRONZE Orthopaedics Abstract:

  1. Outcome of Revision Surgery for Infected Total Knee Arthroplasty: Do Surgical Strategies Matter | EFORT eScience Audio Presentation
    Author(s): Tesfaye H. Leta, Stein Håkon L. Lygre Pål Høvding, Geir Hallan, Jan-Erik Gjertsen, Håvard Dale, Ove Furnes | Haukeland University Hospital, University of Bergen, Norway


GOLD Trauma Abstract:

SILVER Trauma Abstract:

BRONZE Trauma Abstract:

The 10 best-rated poster abstracts submitted to the EFORT Congress receive the Jacques Duparc Award, which includes a grant of EUR 500 and a certificate to acknowledge the work.

The 19th EFORT Annual Congress Barcelona 2018 winners are as follows:

With the Michael Freeman Award, EFORT recognizes an outstanding scientific contribution made to the EFORT Congress. This year’s award is related to knee biomechanics, kindly supported by Medacta International SA. The award comes with a financial reward of EUR 3,000.

The 19th EFORT Annual Congress Barcelona 2018 winner is:

From the best-rated poster abstracts submitted in bone research, EFORT identified one winner of the joint EFORT/Medtronic Award. The winner or rather respective research institute will be awarded with a grant of EUR 5,000.

The 19th EFORT Annual Congress Barcelona 2018 winner is:

The 2018 Awards

The EFORT scientific awards are selected among the many high-quality abstracts submitted to the congress. Among the traditional Free Paper and Jacques Duparc (poster) Awards, EFORT last year introduced the EFORT/Medtronic Award for Excellence in Bone Repair Research and this year for the first time, the EFORT Michael Freeman Award. The latter was created in memory of Professor Michael Freeman, one of the founding fathers of EFORT and EFORT President 1994 to 1995, to honor his lifetime contribution to both the European and the International Orthopaedic Community after he passed away in September 2017.

Please find, in the left, the award winners of the 19th EFORT Annual Congress Barcelona 2018